Air Guitar World Championships

23.–25.8.2023 Oulu, Finland

The airiest of them all has been chosen!

Air Guitar World Championships organized virtual Champion of Champions Championships for all the world champions on Friday 27 August.

The jury and host Dan “Björn Türoque” Crane

WINNER: Justin “Nordic Thunder” Howard from USA, 2012
2nd place: Matt “Airistotle” Burns from USA with his 2016 performance
(won the Champioship in 2016 and 2017)
3rd place: Graig “Hot Lixx Hulahan” Billmeier from USA, 2008

See the whole competition score board here.

All Air Guitar World Champions were invited in the competition starting from the very first year, all the way from 1996. The Champions competed with their original winning performances or with newly shot 60 sec videos.

Jury watched the video performances live online, gave scores based on Stage presence, Technical merit and Airness. The one who got the most scores won the title of Champion of Champions and is thus the best Air Guitarist from the past 25 years of Air Guitar World Championships. The contest was hosted by Dan “Björn Türoque” Crane.

The jury included:
Juha Torvinen, guitarist of a cult Finnish band Eppu Normaali, he has been judging the World Finals from the beginning.
– The Sklar Brothers who can be spotted on for example the TV series Better Call Saul and their own Netflix Special.
Hanna Jakku, AGWC Veteran 2003–2015.
– Tim “Glen Airy Glen Rocks” Evans, former Air Guitar Canada organizer.

The competition was streamed via Air Guitar World Championships’ Twitch channel.

The next Air Guitar World Championships will be take place in Oulu, Finland in August 2022.


Justin “Nordic Thunder” Howard